Skip to main content

A2. Supplemental Educational Services Annual Report

Supplemental Educational Services and School Choice


In response to Arkansas’ approved Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Flexibility Request, the U.S. Department of Education has granted Arkansas schools a waiver of § 1116(b)(5) of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. This section formerly required schools in year 2 or greater of school improvement to provide supplemental educational services from providers approved by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE). Because of this waiver, Arkansas schools are no longer required to provide Supplemental Educational Services (SES) through approved SES providers. Arkansas schools are no longer required to set aside 20% of Title I funds for school choice and SES.


Therefore, for the duration of this waiver, the ADE will not consider or approve applications from SES providers for approval. The Department will no longer maintain a list of approved SES providers.


For more information, please contact:


Arkansas Department of Education

Division of Learning Services

Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot #26

Little Rock, AR 72201

Phone: 501-683-3439

Fax: 501-682-5136